Mission, Administration and Staff

Mission

Providing opportunities to explore, learn, create and connect.

Vision

Empowered and engaged individuals for a more inclusive and connected Baltimore County community.

We Value

  • Our customers and communities
  • Equal access and intellectual freedom
  • Flexibility and collaboration
  • Continuous improvement

Annual Report

Administration

Administrative Offices
320 York Road
Towson, Maryland 21204

Office Hours: Monday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Phone: 410-887-6100
Fax: 410-887-6103
TTY through Maryland Relay

Board of Library Trustees

Phone: 410-887-6100
Fax: 410-887-6103

The Board’s responsibilities include:

  • Appointment of the library director to manage day-to-day operations of the library system
  • Policy formulation. Working with the director and staff, the Board develops policies to ensure that the library system is sound and responds to the needs of the public. Major policy areas include personnel, collection development, public service planning, budgeting and use of technology

Learn more about the Board of Library Trustees.

Library Director Paula Miller

Director

Paula Miller
Email: DirectorMiller@bcpl.net
Phone: 410-887-6121

 
  • Has overall responsibility for the management of the library system and strategic planning, serves as liaison to the County and state government, and is accountable to the Board of Library Trustees
  • Oversees Fiscal Services, Human Resources, Planning, Projects and Data, and Technology Support departments

Paula Miller began her tenure as director for Baltimore County Public Library in August 2014. She is the fourth director of the library and the first female director in its celebrated 68-year history.

Prior to working for Baltimore County Public Library, Miller was director of Colorado's Pikes Peak Library District since 2006, where she oversaw the development and opening of Library 21c, an award-winning state-of-the-art library in Colorado Springs. She also served as director of the Westlake Porter Public Library in Ohio, administrator of the Eastern Shore Regional Library in Maryland and director of the Dover Public Library in Delaware.

Enamored by libraries since her first shelving job at age 16, Miller believes they are critical community resources that are increasingly important in peoples' lives. She is focused on identifying new and emerging library needs while finding innovative solutions that keep community libraries relevant and effective. Miller has focused on building community relationships, organizational partnerships and engaging staff teams that can help the library excel in providing 21st century library services.

Two recent successes from these strong teams and partnerships include the renovation and expansion of the Hereford Branch, with its signature artist and maker center of excellence, The Hive, and the launch of BC Reads, a countywide reading initiative addressing important issues facing our community.

Miller earned a Bachelor's degree in psychology from Kent State University and a Masters of Library and Information Science from the University of Maryland. She and her husband Jay, an artist and art instructor, live in Towson. They have three sons and two grandchildren.

Assistant Directors

James Cooke
Phone: 410-887-6121
Email: ADCooke@bcpl.net

Natalie Edington
Phone: 410-887-6121
Email: ADEdington@bcpl.net

Adult and Community Engagement

Julie Brophy
Phone: 410-887-3285
Email: jbrophy@bcpl.net

Collection Development

Jamie Watson
Phone: 410-887-6137
Email: jwatson@bcpl.net

Customer Support Services

Deb Brothers
Phone: 410-887-6509
Email: dlbrothers@bcpl.net

Interlibrary Loan

Phone: 410-887-6110

Customer Accounts

Phone: 410-887-6181
Email: css@bcpl.net

Meeting Room Bookings

Phone: 410-887-6109
Email: meetingrooms@bcpl.net

Facilities Services and Facilities Management

Purnell Sterrett
Phone: 410-887-6136 or 410-887-6100
Email: psterrett@bcpl.net

Fiscal Services

Helen Rowe (interim)
Phone: 410-887-6170
Email: hrowe@bcpl.net

Human Resources

Cindy Pol
Phone: 410-887-6177
Email: cpol@bcpl.net

Marketing and Development

Linda Frederick
Phone: 410-887-6196
Email: lfrederick@bcpl.net

Planning, Projects and Data

Emily Gamertsfelder
Phone: 410-887-2336
Email: egamertsfelder@bcpl.net

Purchasing

Dave Otto
Phone: 410-887-6155
Email: tdotto@bcpl.net

Security

Mike Engle
Phone: 410-887-6150
Email: mengle@bcpl.net

Technical Services

Jody Sharp
Phone: 410-887-8630
Email: jsharp@bcpl.net

Virtual and Media Services

Liz Sundermann
Phone: 410-887-6132
Email: lsundermann@bcpl.net

Media Creation

Carl Birkmeyer
Phone: 410-887-2082
Email: cbirkmey@bcpl.net

Youth and Family Engagement

Marisa Conner
Phone: 410-887-0517
Email: mconner@bcpl.net